I’m Tired


Summer activities are over and school has started back up. Its time to get back to a regular routine. Its been many months since I written anything on here and much has happened in those months. Too much to really write about. But in looking back, one thing has become apparent to me. In all the busyness of the summer; cares, concerns and getting wrapped up in the “junk” of life, I’ve been left feeling tired and alone .  Which brings me to this post.

Yesterday during the church service I felt prompted to read Isaiah 40.  Yes, I stopped listening to the speaker and lost myself in this chapter. The last couple of weeks I’ve been feeling frayed at the edges. Like if someone came along and pulled one of the strings hanging, the whole thing would come unraveled, leaving me in a pile of tangled threads. This feeling has left me uneasy and a little unsettled. Confession time;  “I’m tired.” Am I alone in this feeling?

It seems the world is getting harder to live in. People are becoming weary. Weary of dealing with family issues, health problems, financial problems, sibling conflicts, employment dissatisfaction, and raising children. Each day can feel like a trial. At times (even though I know I’m not) I feel alone in my struggles. This is how I’ve been feeling the last few weeks. Thus the reason I believe the Lord lead me to Isaiah 40. Listen to what it says.

Isaiah 40:26-31 Lift up your eyes on high And see who has created these stars, The One who leads forth their host by number, He calls them all by name; Because of the greatness of His might and the strength of His power Not one of them is missing. 27) Why do you say, O Jacob, and assert, O Israel, My way is hidden from the Lord, And the justice due me escapes the notice of my God? 28) Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Everlasting God, the Lord, the Creator of the ends of the earth Does not become weary or tired. His understanding is inscrutable. 29) He gives strength to the weary, And to him who lacks might He increases power. 30) Though youths grow weary and tired, And vigorous men stumble badly, 31) Yet those who wait (hope in) for the Lord Will gain new strength; They will mount up with wings (sprout wings) like eagles, They will run and not get tired, They will walk and not become weary (faint).

After reading this, my heart took on a sense of peace. I was reminded (again) that the Almighty God created not only the stars, but me, and you as well. If He calls them by name, then He knows my name too. He knows I’m tired. Tired of the cares of life. Tired of the effects of sin. Tired of the consequences of sinful actions. Tired of all the things that need to be done each day. My hope is in the fact that God NEVER grows weary or tired and knows exactly where I’m at and what I’m going through. His promise is that He will strengthen me so that I can continue on, day-to-day with His strength and power. I don’ t have to manage on my own, nor should I.

Do you ever get tired like me? Do you ever wonder if He even knows or remembers you’re here and that some days its just a flat-out struggle to maintain? Well, Isaiah tells us He does! Take comfort today in knowing that your hope can and should be in God and His strength and power to see you through all that bombards you daily. We are not alone. He does know our names and He cares deeply. Oh, thank you Lord for reminding me again!

About A Better Way of Living

My name is Donna. My friends and family call me DeDe. I'm a wife and mother. But most of all I'm a child of the King. Serving Jesus is my li

Posted on August 13, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment